Seven Ages

TitleSeven Ages
Publication TypeFilm
Year of Publication2000
AuthorsMórdha, Séan Ó.
Running Time55 min each
DistributorRadio Telefís Éireann, BBC Northern Ireland
Publication LanguageEnglish

This documentary explores the history of the Irish Republic, beginning with independence in 1921 to the 1990s. Interviews with politicians, citizens, and scholars of Ireland and archival records and newsreels offer a contextualized and analytical perspective of divisive events like the Irish Civil War and the Troubles. The episodes do not, however, stick rigidly to their particular decade in order to avoid certain historical events from being split across two successive programmes. The final episode covers both the 1980s and 1990s.

Titles of the episodes are:

  1. The Birth of the New Irish State
  2. Depression and the Rise of Fianna Fáil to Power
  3. The Forties - Decade of Neutrality and Censorship
  4. The Fifties - The Make or Break Decade
  5. The Modernisation of Ireland
  6. The Seventies - A Decade of Terror, Tension and Transformation
  7. Haughey and FitzGerald - Great Adversaries of the Eighties.
Entry by GWC Assistants / Work by GWC Assistants :